Ode and Wandering

This one is pretty raw meaning both that I did very little editing and that it made Bree feel very vulnerable. Everyone has always been very supportive and respectful with us sharing and I ask that it continue. Thank you!

Ode by Arthur O’Shaughnessy

We are the music makers,
And we are the dreamers of dreams,
Wandering by lone sea-breakers,
And sitting by desolate streams;—
World-losers and world-forsakers,
On whom the pale moon gleams:
Yet we are the movers and shakers
Of the world for ever, it seems.

I’ve read some strict interpretations of this and what it means but I’m going to go out on a limb and say that poetry can be subject to different interpretations.

Bree is a music maker and dreamer of dreams but she is wandering in a desolate place. Her mind is full of fear and doubt, forgotten by the world but in that place she is finding friends and hope and strength and as those ideas grow she will move and shake the world and the world will never be the same.

The reason I have so much hope in this is because I have conquered, and watched others conquer. Check out our friends the Fellow Wanderers. This poem is about creation, it is about ideas, and I think it is about having the courage to wander, to get away from society and what the world thinks. Wandering helps us become the movers and shakers of the world that we want to create. But that takes courage that not everyone has.

Bree and I had an interesting conversation about her eating disorder. She knows that I know what’s going on, but she does it anyway. She wants to be better in her heart and make changes to get her on the path to recovery but when facing the moment head on she gives into her fear. Not all the time but often enough that it sets back her recovery.

I have taken a less aggressive approach to her recovery, she knows I’m here and I want her to fight and she wants that too, but wanting something and acting on it are different. I know the only way this will stick is if she wins her own battles and conquers her own demons. She has good friends and is seeking professional help but in the end that is only help. They cannot recover for her, and neither can I. They cannot put food in her body and keep it there. She has to find that change inside herself and I can’t wait for that to happen.

When she finds that courage, that hope, that conquerer there will be no stopping her. She is already one of the strongest people that I know and she will change the world when she realizes that. I think that potential is also something that scares her but when she is ready for it, faith and hope and love will replace that fear and that will be a wild ride.

Leave a Reply

